At the core of Finbond Group Limited's business are the intellectual capital, experience, commitment and proven skills of its management. The senior management is a blend of experienced high profile individuals with many years of management experience in the banking and financial services sector and all with proven track records, and corporate entrepreneurs with a flair for business.


Executive Directors

Dr. Willem van Aardt

Chief Executive Officer

[B Proc (Cum Laude), LLM, LLD, Admitted Attorney of the High Court of South Africa, QLTT (England and Wales), Admitted Solicitor of the Supreme Court of England and Wales, Extraordinary Research Fellow North-West University Research Unit: Law, Justice and Sustainability]


Previously the co-founder and an executive director of Thuthukani Group Limited, a JSE listed microfinance and debt collection company.

Doctorate in Public Law through the North West University Potchefstroom Campus in 2005.

Completed International Development Ireland's “Strategy in Management and Banking Programme” in Dublin in 2009.

Previously Legal Consultant at Sanlam and Co-Founder and Executive Director Thuthukani Group Limited.

Appointed as Extraordinary Research Fellow North-West University Research Unit: Law, Justice and Sustainability 2020.

Greg Labuschagne

Chief Financial Officer

[CPA (CA), BCom (Hons Acc), BCom (Fin Acc) Cum Laude]


Senior financial executive with experience in strategic and financial business planning, day-to-day management of the finance department, as well as operational support for the business. This combination of strong business knowledge, international experience and technical abilities was gained from various senior and executive level positions held at companies in Sub-Saharan Africa and North America.

Canadian Chartered Professional Accountant (CPA, CA), he completed his articles with KPMG. Served as Financial Director and Chief Financial Officer at Finbond Group Limited (responsible for group-wide finance and statutory functions) between 2009 and 2011, was appointed as Chief Financial Officer of Finbond Group International during July 2018, and re-appointed Financial Director and Chief Financial Officer at Finbond Group Limited in March 2019. Prior to rejoining Finbond Group Limited, served as Chief Financial Officer of the Conservative Party of Canada. Previous experience includes serving as Financial Manager at ABSA Bank Limited.


Non-Executive Directors

Dr. Malesela Motlatla

Independent Non-Executive Chairman

[BA (Unisa), Post-Graduate Diploma in Marketing (Unisa), D.Com (Honoris Causa (Unisa), Diploma in Business Management and further studies through the Wharton School of Business (Philadelphia)]


Established the first black business consortium in the Northern Cape region, Malesela Holdings (Pty) Limited, operates in the areas of logistics, health, power and energy and the cleaning industries.

Serves on the boards of several JSE listed companies as chairman.

Former Chairman of Tshwane University of Technology (TUT).

Danie Pentz

Independent Non-Executive Director

(B Com (Hons), (Chartered Accountant (SA), AEP (Unisa))


Mr. Pentz is a Chartered Accountant who had his training at one of the big four audit firms. Since then he has had more than 46 years' experience as a financial manager, tax consultant and executive director of various JSE listed financial institutions including JCI, Absa Bank, Alacrity, African Bank, Fulcrum Bank and the unlisted Community Bank.

He has participated in the founding and registration of the Community Bank and was the Chief Operating Officer of Fulcrum Bank. At these financial institutions he was responsible for the development and installation of financial and IT systems.

Over his years in these financial institutions he facilitated the strategic processes and supervised the implementation of these strategic plans and the resulting achievement of goals and action plans.

Mr. Pentz managed a wide range of disciplines during his roles in senior management.

Adv. Neville Melville

Independent Non-Executive Director

[BA Law, LLB (Natal) LLM (Cum Laude) (Natal), Post Graduate Diploma in Company Direction, Senior Executive Programme (Harvard Business School), AltX Company Directors' Induction (Wits Business School)), Advocate of the High Court]


Neville was the CEO of the board of the Ombudsman for Banking Services for seven years, working alongside various top-flight, experienced directors of public companies.

First Executive Director of the Independent Complaints Directorate and practised as an Advocate at the Durban Bar.

Former office-bearer in various local and international voluntary associations, including chairperson of the South African Ombudsman Association.

Member of the Financial Service Ombuds Schemes Council and was the FSB/court appointed Curator of PIT Group of Companies.

Served as a founder director of the Co-operative Banks Development Agency (CBDA).

Member of Chartered Institute of Arbitrators, London and Institute of Directors, South Africa.

Ina Wilken-Jonker

Non-Executive Director

[BCom (Hons) (Unisa), M.ConSci (UP)]


Appointed at Santam Bank in 1967 and held positions at the Bank of the Orange Free State, Barclays Bank, First National Bank and the SA Consumer Council prior to joining Finbond in 2003.

Former Chairman of the Estate Agency Affairs Board and former Chairman of the South African National Consumer Union.

Appointed to the Debt Collectors’ Council by the Minister of Justice in 2007, to the Agricultural Research Council by the Minister of Agriculture in 2009, by the Minister of Trade and Industry to both the Estate Agency Affairs Board in 2010 and the FSB’s FAIS board.

Was Vice Chairman of the Banking Ombudsman between 2000 - 2010 and the vice-president of the Pretoria Chamber of Commerce, the president of International Training and Communication in Pretoria, and a board member of the SA Pharmaceutical Council.

46 years’ experience in the financial services, banking and consumer protection industries.

Was Head Compliance Officer at Finbond up to her retirement in 2013, where after she became non-executive director.

Piet Naudé

Independent Non-Executive Director

[BCom (Marketing), Gaining Competitive Advantage (Michigan), IEP (INSEAD)]


Mr. Piet Naudé commenced his career in the Banking industry in 1976, and fulfilled multiple diverse Executive Level roles at Absa Corporate and Merchant Bank.

With portfolios ranging from Senior Manager: Relationships, to Manager for Corporate Banking Services, and also Provincial General Manager, he accumulated substantial business acumen over the years.

Mr. Naudé possesses extensive management experience in Discounting, Client Relationships, Asset Based Finance and Corporate Banking.

Piet holds a BCom in Marketing from the University of Pretoria, and successfully participated in and completed the IEP (International Executive Programme) through INSEAD, as well as ‘Gaining the Competitive Advantage’ Program, through Michigan Business School.

Sean Riskowitz

Non-Executive Director

[BCom (Wits)]


Founder of Midbrook Lane Proprietary Limited, a private investment company.

Founder and Managing Member of Riskowitz Capital Management LLC (the General Partner of the Riskowitz Value Fund LP) and the Managing Member of Protea Asset Management LLC, an investment management business, incorporated in the United States of America.

Over 16 years investment industry experience.